Music Theory Class–weeks 4 and 5

Week 4 was the first quiz–50 points possible plus 5 extra credit. One section was about identifying the tempo of a passage….adagio, andante, moderato, allegro and presto.  Lucky for me, Songsaenim plays one of the pieces from the Classical OST of Secret Love Affair.  My heart races, and I need to gather my scattered thoughts…I have listened to this OST so many times I know it by heart…it’s Mozart’s Piano Sonata no. 8 in A minor. I try and remember…it’s marked Allegro on the description that comes up on my phone, I am pretty sure.  I will check the sheet music when I get home. Perhaps I will get at least one right, and if not I will be very unhappy.

I shouldn’t have worried– I was pleased that I got a 51 out of 55 total points! So far I can keep up with my young and infinitely brighter classmates! Considering the major problems I have with the homework, I am amazed at my grade.

Week 5–Now we are starting Intervals. I remember these from Monday night Piano class, but this is much more detailed. Major and minor seconds and thirds–how to tell the difference between them?  Perfect 4th’s and 5th’s..I am lost. I can go home and pick it out on the piano, but to just listen to it? I’m feeling overwhelmed. I have an app on my phone now called “Perfect Ear”; ironically named for a trait which I certainly do not possess. Even after a week of listening to them 30 minutes each day, I still screw up. Class on Wednesday night should be interesting. I know I can do this, I need to work harder.

In better news, my lovely daughter downloaded a freebie copy of Microsoft Word for me, making it considerably easier to format my concert reports!  Yay!

6 thoughts on “Music Theory Class–weeks 4 and 5

  1. Too difficult to judge from a 20 second snippet. She’s good though; I am blown away at how I can hit one note on the piano and she ID’s it perfectly, every time.
    And at least I got that question right!

    Like

Leave a Reply

